If you know me well enough, you know that both Justin & I are horrible about keeping these kind of things up-to-date. I'm using the "Mom of THREE kids" excuse this time. So there.
So let's see, since November quite a bit has changed. #1, Auggie no longer goes to Preschool. We decided to take him out for a few different reasons, mainly that it seemed silly that I was sending him to preschool when I used to teach preschool. Ultimately, I was sending him more to be out of the way during the first couple of months when Sammy was at her neediest. It also made more sense to keep him home on the financial side. Besides, he could easily enter kindergarten in the Fall. He's already reading at the "Primer" level, which is where most Kindergartners are at middle of the school year. I think he'll do fine. But Justin & I are a bit frazzled that he will be going there this Fall. We knew the time was coming, but now that I'm filling out registration forms and attending Kinder Orientation, we're both realizing that our #1 is an old man! He acts like an old man at times, & looks like a 6 year old!! Woo-Hoo Hogen-Esch genes!!
Hayden: is my little Diablo. He's such a mischievous little boy!! He's talking more now that he's been home, which is good! We've started potty-training (Auggie was fully potty trained @ 2years), but Hayden would much rather play. He's figured out that all he need to do is go pee on the potty & he gets one M&M. So now when he asks for a cookie or other sweet & I say no, he'll then tell me he has to go to the potty, so that he can get a M&M. Too smart!! He still doesn't eat well & is pretty defiant. I spend most of my day diffusing arguments between him & Auggie, typically with Hayden instigating the problem. yeap. My little Demon Seed....
(ok, ok, he's not THAT bad. I've been around kids who have had major behavioral issues & Hayden is an angel compared. He's just sneaky & knows more than he lets on...)
& then there's the Princess: Not-So-Little Miss Sammy. She's growing like Auggie did, long & lean & FAST! She's off the charts for length, measuring in at 28.5 inches at her 4.5 month check-up!! Her weight is average @ 14.7 lbs. This means that Hayden will be the runt of the bunch!!! She's an interesting little girl. Very particular. For example, she does not want to be held when drinking a bottle. We have to lay her on her back while we hold the bottle (not very comfy for us). When she was smaller, she wanted to go to sleep by herself in her crib with the bink. Now, she wants us to rock with her a little (Mommy doesn't mind...), & put her in her crib when SHE is ready...could be 5 min, could be 20. She's also very attached to soft blankets, which is no big deal until she pulls them over her face at night. It makes me nervous, so i got her a little "lovey" blanky (a small square blanket made of the chenille material) that she likes to have against her cheek when she sleeps. She eats the blankets too...& her sleeves & pretty much anything fabric. No crawling yet. Though she can roll from her tummy to her back, when SHE wants too...All-in-All, I still think she has been easier than the boys were.
Me: eh. that's not very interesting.
Justin: still at Google. We were hoping to use his stock to buy a house & take advantage of the slow market, but now that the stock market has taken a plunge, we might not be able to move as soon as we thought. Oh well i guess. things could be worse. at least I can stay home & raise my own children, even though they drive me nuts sometimes. Justin is also utterly in love with Sammy...it's pretty cute to see him get all ga-ga over her. Though sometimes I think he gives in to her demands a little quickly ;-)
That's it for us right now. I'll try to post some new photos on the Picasa thing this week. But I make NO promises!!
~C