The Hogen-Esch Adventures

Friday, March 26, 2010

the torture of a lemon zester....

Lately, Auggie has been choosing/asking for foods with shrimp (that's my boy!), and I like to cook my shrimp with copious amounts of garlic & olive oil. Lemon zest adds a nice flavor to it at the end.
My problem: I don't have a zester. I've been using the grate part of the cheese grater thingy, which works, but is not that efficient.
So while at whole foods tonight, I saw a neato lemon zester for like $6. Without thinking, I grabbed it. I finish shopping, take a quick inventory of my cart and realized what I just did. I was about to buy STUFF! ugh...well, at least I realized what I was doing, and reluctantly put it back. My cheese grater works fine...gets the job done. This nifty kitchen gadget NOT an essential, so back it goes...waiting to be purchased by the next consumer that walks by needing a "one-use" object...

I realized as I drove home, kids happy with their mini cupcakes from the bakery in the backseats, how difficult it really is to not purchase new items. I'm a girl whose therapy is retail inspired, who enjoys a good "find" and often walks all the isles of Target "just to see." um....Just to see what? Just to see what other STUFF I can bring home, that will take up space in my house, that will end up underused then donated...man. This is going to be a tough year...



(~to understand this post, please read "No New Stuff" in March 2010)

3 Comments:

At 10:25 PM, Blogger Corystal said...

Stay strong dear Chrissie.. that's great that u caught urself and took action. It is a tough but very admirable pledge you've pledged. I know we've been a bit uncomfortable with the amount of 'stuff' we've bought in preparation for the baby, especially since most of it gets very little actual use before it's obsolete (luckily we've been blessed with so much hand-me-down 'stuff'). Anyways.. you can proly find a zester at a thrift shop... I'll keep an eye out for ya ;)
(this is cory BTW)

 
At 7:06 AM, Blogger Hogen-Esch Crew said...

hey....what other baby stuff do you need?
Chances are...we still have it ;-)
When it comes to babies...a lot of it is for saftey...car seats/strollers/crib (unless you plan on co-sleeping till baby is like 2) Other stuff you *could* get away with NOT having could be bottles (if you're able to exclusively breastfeed, no need for bottles.) toys (babies don't need much. easily amused. When they get mobile is when they start to need more stuff to play with)...
ALSO, the 1st kid WILL generate the most stuff...but if you save all of it, subsequent kids will not require more stuff...and are cheaper in a way... ;-)

 
At 10:21 PM, Blogger Corystal said...

we gots tons of stuff. If we decide we need something, we will be hitting up all you trailblazers first ;)

 

Post a Comment

<< Home