Why some animals eat their young....
I'm sure scientists have some really great explanations for why certain species result to eating their young...or even their spouses.
My theroy: On some wavelength inaudible to humans, the offspring begin to chant in unisin: "mommy, mommy, mommy....mom...mom...mom, mom, mom...mommy, mommy, mommy...mom..." (etc).
After several minuets of attempting to ignore the incessant repetition of her name, the mother looses it and chomps down on the nearest offspring. Sadly, the siblings who were witness to this act, must now follow the same fate since, as we all know, there can be no witnesses.
Let's just say, I had "ONE" of those days today.
Speaking of food...
I wanted to start blogging a bit about my newest personal challenge: RAW.
Yes...my mom thinks I'm turning into a Hippie. I'm fine with that generalization.
She thinks I'm crazy for spending a bit more for Organic foods for my family...Thinks I'm insane for saying I will not buy anything new for one year (including Auggie's lunchbox!)...and when she gets word of this..well... who knows.
Basically, I have several reasons for choosing to change to this diet, most of which stem from my recent reading of some great books and watching some provocative documentaries on the subject of food production and consumerism in our country. I feel like this change in eating is just another step in doing what I think is best not only for the planet, but for myself (because the world revolves around ME, you see...)
A RAW diet is exactly what it sounds like: comprised of fruits and vegetables that were never cooked or processed, in the comercial sense of the term. This would typically mean no dairy either, but I've still been eating yogurt and some cheeses as I adapt to this way of nourishing my body. WHY? The theory is that when you eat raw foods, you are eating LIVE foods, and live foods offer up a wider array of nutrients and health benefits than their cooked versions. Therefore, you would be healthier since you are not consuming DEAD/processed foods...
Yes, people can argue on both sides of this theory & I'm not trying to report here that RAW is right 100%...merely here sharing another goal: to eat RAW for one month. & hey...if I notice any changes about the way I feel, would that not be evidence enough?

9 Comments:
You are hilarious... don't eat ur childrens now ya hear?!
As the husband of a mostly raw vegan, i'd like to say a few words re: ur latest challenge
- raw food > processed food diet is no doubt better
- organic food > taitned food diet is no doubt better
- some foods are easier for your body to deal with when cooked e.g tomatos apparently
- raw milk is available and delicious
- totally raw diet is not for everyone, there is a book about eating for your blood type, it may be called that actually. According to crystals blood type, she pretty much SHOULD be a raw vegan.. it's crazy too cause she has no canine teeth, i mean they are there but not pointy like mine... my point being that its good that you plan to pay close attention to how food makes you feel rather than just picking a new diet category and going with it.
- its pretty amazing the variety of delicious things that can be made raw (BBQ kale chips are my latest craze)
- they definitely seem more 'alive' when you consume them
- regardless of how raw your diet ends up being.. i think the important thing is your awareness of what you're consuming and I'm very happy for you and your family to be reaping the benefits of this conscious decision making... you dirty hippie ;)
Raw = weight loss because you won't be able to absorb anywhere near as many calories from raw fruits and veggies as you would if they were cooked. That, and you won't be able to absorb as many vitamins and proteins, either, because you need to break down cell walls to get at most of those nutrients. There's nothing wrong with increasing the percentage of fruits and veggies in your diets, but I'd probably stick to at least cooking and eating whole-grain pasta and olive oil for the kids until they're a little older.
MingJane: NOT doing this for the kids...no way! them eat veggies besides carrots and green beans?? HA!
Cory: Yah... I don't think eating RAW would be for everyone. I've heard of the blood type thing...read about it moons ago. Didn't put too much into the idea since it then tried to put me into two categories: Hunter or Gatherer..and it seemed very "diet" like...I don't do diets. (long list of reasons why...TBDiscussed at a later time....).
When I got to thinking about the whole raw concept, it seemed to make more sense on the whole....still able to eat the things i love, just gotta find new ways to make it w/o cooking it (chocolate for example...raw brownies...nom nom nom...) & I'm not much of meat eater either... But we'll see. I'll try it for a month, & see what I think about it all then ;-)
oh & weight loss: while it would be neat, it's not my main focus. My issue there is getting my but to the gym, or find a sport or something. While busy with the kids, my body needs that "sweat/work till you pass out" experience to get results ;-) Damn Genetics. Seriously. Both sides of my fam. MAJOR uphill battle there. My goal is just to be more healthy...try to shake off all these crazy hormonal things that have sprung up after Sammy was born. (did a ton of blood tests, everything in normal range. so WTF?) yay for motherhood I suppose...or getting older...or BOTH! Regardless...not too bad of a lifestyle so far. We'll see what I say in a week ;-)
i only read the first 2 paragraphs cuz i couldn't stop laughing and crying, even before i finished "no witnesses". ROFLMAO...... i love you hogen-eschs!
First, eating your young is only if you have 4 or more offspring. You don't qualify..So you will have to be happy with just licking them!!
Eating raw..whatever. You are my goth/hippie child. Gotta have one unusual child in every group..you win! I don't read, I don't watch things that tell me how my filet minon got to my plate. I like to stick my head in the sand..keeps me sane (r). But more power to ya! Just remember to get enough iron, calcium. You won't want health issues when you are my age. And what you do at your age will affect that. And FEED MY GRANDBABIES!
they will benefit from the veges and fruits. but they too need more. Good luck on this voyage tho. You always find the most interesting things to challenge. If you still need a lemon zester, I have one that is taking up space in my junk drawer you may have.
Well go for the raw and grow your own vegies its better. But somethings steam for about 2min. to kill of bugs. Iron in your greens. I have had to teach my grandson how to eat fresh fruits and vegies. He loves them.
And eat Nuts your bones need them.
Tell ya what the kids and the mommy thing well its handed down from generation to generation. I say enjoy cause one day it will stop and you'll miss it. But you could in the mean time threaten to nail the other foot to the floor if they don't stop. ;)
Say look see if you can get your hands on a dehydrater the things you can do with that. Would save some money.
Lunch box your mama and the 5 of us used paper bags..its good enough except on rainy days.
Aunt C.
Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog!
We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!
ageless male -
http://enfant-dysphasie.fr -
ageless male
my web page ... ageless male
I enjoy, cauѕe I diѕcoveгed eхactlу what I was having a
look for. Yоu haνe еndеd mу fouг ԁау lοng hunt!
Gоd Bleѕs you mаn. Ηave a great day.
Bye
Feel free tо surf tо my webpage; green coffee extract
Ι know this wеbsite provides quality based pοsts and otheг stuff, iѕ
there аny othег website which preѕents ѕuch data in qualіty?
Lοok at my website: sportsbet
Post a Comment
<< Home